Author Topic: Hello from Luc in Switzerland  (Read 1704 times)

Luc Bigler

Hello from Luc in Switzerland
« on: November 20, 2010, 03:28:28 AM »
I joined Spirit of Photography a few weeks back but I am only slowly discovering all the site has to offer. That is why I only introduce myself today. I was encouraged by Michèle to join when she heard I was interested in photography. I am the father of the "flying girl" by Michèle everybody admired 2(?) weeks back. I am 67 (today!) and hope to have more time now that I am retired to do more photography. My creative side was neglected for many years now because of heavy work load in my profession. I am Swiss and French and married (for the last 40 years and hopefully many more) to a New Zealander. We have 3 daugthers (35, 33 and 23) who have all left home. We live in a small village in the French speaking part of the Jura about 1 hour southwest of Basel. For my work as a development economist I have spent a number of years in Nepal, Bangladesh and India and since travelled and visited many exotic places in Asia, Africa, Latin America. Most of my slides (taken with Olympus OM1, 2 and 4) are still waiting to be digitalised. This is one of my retieree projects. One of my weaknesses in photography is that I get excited about something I see (and the light seems just right...) and I shoot without much attention to technique, ajustments. I realise I have a lot to learn. I am excited about it! The assignements are an excellent challenge to think through how to visualise a subject, an idea. I love it!   

keithsnell

• Administrator
Re: Hello from Luc in Switzerland
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2010, 07:53:55 AM »
Hi Luc,

Thank you very much for introducing yourself.  And HAPPY BIRTHDAY!