Author Topic: Hello from Michèle in Switzerland  (Read 2080 times)

Michele

Hello from Michèle in Switzerland
« on: March 01, 2010, 03:42:09 AM »
It is so nice to have found this site.  I want to thank Keith for making this site and offering his time and expertise.  I really wish I could meet people who love to do photography as much as I do.  Well, what can I say.  I am originally Canadian from Montreal.  I studied to be a teacher but I let that go to take up an amazing job that let me travel worldwide in the satellite broadband technology area.  It did not matter if I was working, I always brought along my trusty Pentax and took some time to find something unique to photograph anywhere I went.  I remember once I went to Rochester, Minnesota in the winter and I was not too pleased to be there.  It was cold and there was a lot of snow.  Coming from Canada, you would think I would have been prepared.  But I just got back from Singapore and I did not think about it.  I was in a suit (skirt) and heels.  When I got off the plane, I was knee deep in snow.  (Really not happy)  But someone told me about a lake where the Canadian geese do not migrate because of a factory that heats up the lake.  So I bought some boots and went off to see this place.  (Still in a suit)  And I was in awe.  The steam rose from the lake and there were gigantic geese everywhere the eye can see.  Flying just inches over my head and it was overwhelming.  I took the pictures but I was freezing.  All that to say that there is always something unique about anywhere we are, even our own backyard.  Sadly that camera was destroyed by dust when I went camping in Tanzania.  I met my husband on one of my business trips in Basel.  We fell in love and I moved to Switzerland 14 years ago.  When we got married, our hired photographer got sick and never showed up.  I was heartbroken because I had no photographs of my wedding exept bad snapshots from people who did it without thinking. I now have 7 year old boy