Author Topic: greetings from Alec Himwich  (Read 2341 times)

alec

greetings from Alec Himwich
« on: March 25, 2008, 02:16:26 PM »
Hi folks,

I just joined.  I am an enthusiastic amateur photographer and was led to this website through a variety of references on the all-seeing, all-knowing web.  The references were the results of searches on website construction using Coppermine. 

I have a Coppermine gallery (http://www.alechimwichphoto.com/cpg) and am wanting to make it into a more fully function site. 

As for photographic interests, I like to photograph about anything.  But I like sports and flowers especially because I can just point my lens anywhere and not have anyone complain.  My wife is an environmental scientist so our vacations are usually to places of natural beauty which tests my ability to make myself a companionable spouse and photographer simultaneously.   I do have a "day job" so time I can spend on photography and its attendant activities are limited.

We are headed out to CO late this June and will vacation there for a couple of weeks.  Any suggestions about especially good places to visit would be appreciated.  I think the area of the Rocky Mountain Biological Laboratory is our most likely target area.

Cheers,
Alec

keithsnell

• Administrator
Re: greetings from Alec Himwich
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2008, 03:42:23 PM »
Hi Alec,

Welcome!  Have you or your wife been to Gothic (Rocky Mountain Biological Laboratory) before?  It is located in one of the prime areas in the Rockies for wildflowers.  The peak of the wildflower bloom isn't usually until the 2nd or 3rd week in July; however, since you will be there "a couple of weeks" you should be able to see much of the bloom.  At the end of June you should be able to photograph wildflowers at the lower elevations, and move higher as you progress into July.  I envy the time you will be able to spend there.